Nikuk

Impedance Rise

I've been meaning to write this up and post it here for sometime... thankfully Aaron pushed me a little.

A couple of quick comments: I've tried to make this as straight forward and digestible as possible; I've explained these things to the best of my knowledge... bear in mind, I am no Electrical Engineer.

What follows is the result of monthss of research and hours of playing / testing my own equipment.

Lastly - I'll leave this locked until Denim gets a look at it.

-Nick

Resistor method:

You are going to need the items mentioned above, but, in addition:

• An additional VOM/DMM would be helpful.
    * A 10 ohm resistor. Preferably non-inductive and able to handle 10 watts or better.

That

There are other ways to do this. Though, for me, they are the same difficulty level (low). It

sheesh, thats an amazing write up Nick

now i just need to get off my lazy ass to install and test my subs

What a waste of time. I already know this much. You suck! :lol2::D

On a serious note, I can't wait for Dave, Mike, or Nick to enlighten us more in the actual EE department. I'd love to get into further deyail on this.

One thing I've been wondering is how these newer amps coming out with their ability to produce a continous amount of the same power into any nominal impedance account for the shifts in impedance. I know the JBL/Crown amps are wired differently for different nominal loads, therefore, I'm led to believe they will not work to full potential with shift involved. The JL and PG amps, I just have no clue on.

Yes Ryan, I know you know this. So do some others... but lot's of folks dont know, or dont know how to account for it.

Yea, I'm curious in the same fashions.

Someone asked me to post this up... ;)

-Nick

Yes Ryan, I know you know this. So do some others... but lot's of folks dont know, or dont know how to account for it.

Yea, I'm curious in the same fashions.

Someone asked me to post this up... ;)

-Nick