bobby_7

Shin splints.....

so i have been working out for the past 2 months, 3 days a week, for about an hour. sometimes i switch up my routine, but for the most part i will do 30 minutes of cardio, and 30 minutes of weights. i have tried running on the treadmill and on the track and i still get shin splints. i do calf raises everyday as well. i am 5'6" 230 lbs, so im definitely overweight, so i know that has something to do with it, but also, i would think it would improve at least a little bit by now. is there anything i can do to prevent these shin splints from running?

i have tried to get on a diet, and i have cut back on my portions and i try to have a small healthy snack every few hours, rather than eating 3 big meals, but i just cannot get motivated enough to stick to it. i work out on the road, and the guys i work with all eat fast food everyday, so it is very tough to bring a lunch and eat by myself while they eat fast food.

any advice / suggestions?

Are you wearing a good pair of shoes when you run? Insoles may be required as well.

As for shin splints ... try running on a softer surface (grass, for example). Ice post-workout and try to avoid running on your toes. Stretch ... often - 4-7 days a week.

i think i have some insoles layin around my apartment if i can find them. i have some new balance shoes and they are very comfortable to me. granted they were only like $40 when i bought them, but they should be ok for what i use them for.

my shin splints, when i get them, i can quit running, and switch to weights and they will go away within like 20 or 30 minutes and feel fine the rest of the day. should i still ice them post workout even if they dont hurt?

i would just slow down my pace and keep running while i have these shin splints, but sometimes they are really painful, and i have also heard that when you get them, you should stop running, as it could cause further damage. is that true?