nick_19

Subwoofer/port placement in trunk

Ok so I have basic knowledge of rear/front waves and all that mess.

My basic question is this: I have a subwoofer enclosure with the port firing to the side and the sub firing upward. Theoretically, which way should I "point" the port to get the loudest result? I can fire it in four different ways

portdirectionpic.jpg

You can look at this vid to get a good idea of how much room it has etc.

So to get the least amount of canceling or whatever, what do y'all think? I will probably test all four different ways on the TL, but I am just wondering what your theories are... Thanks!

PS - pic is as though you were looking down on the car. The red square is the TL mic.

Edited by nick_19

Every time I have ever tested this (well almost every time) sub back port back in a car without folding seats as long as ample room is between the trunk and the port has always provided the best results.

oddly enough, based on a sealed box during testing, the woofer performed best in my G35 facing upwards and was louder with the seats up than it was with them folded down.

in my BMW, it was much louder facing back, and with the seats open

The only thing i can attribute this to would be that i could attribute this to would be the fact that the box was all the way against the back of the seat in the G and the trunk is long, as opposed to the BMW which had what seemed to be a shorter but higher trunk. The woofer was only a few inches away from the rear deck in the G

Get a TL and do some testing...... that is the only real way to tell.

Yeah... guess I will have to. Got a TL. Just need the whole time part.

You don't need a TL to test, anything that measures will give you relative results as long as you keep it in the same configuration.

im pretty sure he has a TL anyhow...

i was gonna buy it but he was fast on the draw:P