Sign in to follow this  
racerx86

Slapping noise?

So i was listening to my system today and i put my ear next to the box and i heard some sort of slapping noise. I know this cant be a good thing but who knows im a noob. I have a 12'' Q with the BP option being powered by a hifonics bxi1208d. I have the gain at half way and the sub sonic at 32 hz and the low pass at around 100 110. I have a down firing box, 2.5^3 ft tuned to 32 hz. Is the sub supposed to make this noise or what?

thanks for any help

I don't know a lot either and I don't know what the slapping noise is. But i do know that you should turn your sub sonic filter doooowwwn. If you have it at 32hz it means it is getting rid of frequencies below the tuning your box is at, which isn't good. Also i would turn your low pass down to around 80hz, the fi q is meant for low frequencies.

I thought you wanted your sub sonic set to where your box was tuned at....chit i guess i was wrong. Where do you think i should set it, i know its all on listening preference but i want a range.

thanks

well from what i've heard, you should set your subsonic filter around 5-10hz below your tuned frequency. But i'd still definitely recommend turning your low pass down. I'm getting an Fi Q 12" and i'm setting my low pass down to 65hz, but that's just me

Do you have a new Q or an older one? Are your tinsel leads woven into the spider?

So i was listening to my system today and i put my ear next to the box and i heard some sort of slapping noise. I know this cant be a good thing but who knows im a noob. I have a 12'' Q with the BP option being powered by a hifonics bxi1208d. I have the gain at half way and the sub sonic at 32 hz and the low pass at around 100 110. I have a down firing box, 2.5^3 ft tuned to 32 hz. Is the sub supposed to make this noise or what?

thanks for any help

Do you have a picture of your box?

Edited by nmssd12

I have had my sub for maybe a month and a half maybe two so idk if its the new style or not...