ShaneSauce

Using bolt as a speaker terminal

Instead of ordering a 8 gauge speaker terminal, waiting for it to get here then cutting a hole in my box and screwing that in..

Could I just get 2 bolts and 2 washers and screw those into my box and use those as a positive and negative post?

Any tips or experiences with this?

edit: im still a noob when it comes to little stuff like this, the only reason I ask is I have seen something similar done on this site.

Edited by ShaneSauce

i know people do it but i like straight through runs.

Why use a bolt? It just adds resistance.

Run your wires straight through the box, use sealant and expanding foam to seal the runs.

Run your wires straight through the box, use sealant and expanding foam to seal the runs.

i c some people just run theirs straight through the port .... any thing wrong with that?

not for daily it isnt.

If you want to seriously start competing, it's been known running wire out of port loses a couple tenths on the meter.

Test it.

it's a fact, any break in connection will add resistance. May not be readable but it's true.

it's a fact, any break in connection will add resistance. May not be readable but it's true.

I was thinking about doing the bolts on my next enclosure and just curious to see if anyone will test it to see if adds resistance (how would one test to see if it adds resistance). I think someone should build a box with a hole for the wire to run through and test it / some bolts on the same box and hook up the same speaker wire and see if resistance takes place. If it is not readable then does that mean their was an addition in the resistance since it wasnt detectable?

u cant really test the difference unless u are running several thousand watts

lower end power wont really have an effect on the outcome because the resistance is so low already.