mjmarovi

Alternator took a crap...suggestions?

so I knew it was happening, and was in process of saving up for a custom valeo Ohio Generator alternator. current alty decided to crap on my today, so I need to order a new one this weekend. I don't have the 450 to dish out for the Ohio right now, and saw what seems to be a reputable company selling a 200 amp for 210 plus shipping on ebay.

BNR alternators and starters? I would rather spend the money on a 160 amp higher quality alty than a 200 amp piece of junk.

My experience in past with alternators is iraggi, ohio, green monster, and that's about it.

Any input would be greatly appreciated thanks!

right now battery bank consists of a single hc1400 and hc2000, and plan on doubling this...

i've had some experience with those ebay brand alt. like DB electrical. but not BNR alternators and starters

All they do is take a stock alt and rewrap it with more copper. but what that does is take away from the idle output of the alt. even still I had a DB electrical "200amp" HO alt. bought on back in 2005 for my truck back then and it did nothing to help my system. my idle voltage actually dropped and I did the big 3 and everything. Overrated in my opinion

Edited by djphilly

I looked online and didnt find anything but call 1.888.MECHMAN and he might have some good prices for you. Whoever you order it from, I dont think it will get here by this weekend on ground shipping though.

Edited by bigrank916

I looked online and didnt find anything but call 1.888.MECHMAN and he might have some good prices for you. Whoever you order it from, I dont think it will get here by this weekend on ground shipping though.

Yea mechman has great customer service and they will help you get what you need

i've had some experience with those ebay brand alt. like DB electrical. but not BNR alternators and starters