Dave88LX

Planning/parts gathering for my Ram Mega Cab build.

Hey all,

New here, but not to forums. Found this site through CarAudio/DIYMA or something. I have limited knowledge of car audio stuff, I haven't installed or had anything nice to listen to for 10 years now.

Truck is an '07 Ram Mega Cab, so I have ample space behind the rear seats.

So far I have:

Pioneer AVIC-Z120BT

Focal 165 V30

JBL GTO 1004 (on the way, $100 recent Best Buy sale)

Have my wiring (AudioTechnix 1/0 OFC), need terminals/distro blocks/etc.

AudioTechnix 80mil sound deadener

Currently I'm reading about and researching subs/amps, and whether I want Luxury Liner Pro, or SDS CCF + MLV for the last pieces of the puzzle.

I read rules 14-18, so I will not use SPL/SQ/"""SQL"""/daily to describe my use! I will just call it a non-competition truck that I want to sound great, and get the best value for my money. I'm not aiming to get loud at a certain frequency, nor am I looking to completely accurately reproduce the audio as it was recorded. Just clear and hard hitting.

I've spoken with pro-rabbit (Dustin/DC Creations) a bit about doing my enclosure. When I get out there and get exact measurements, we should be able to get a better idea of exactly what direction we can go in. Initial measurements give me about 4.5 ft^3 to play with.

I realize this isn't a ton of info, but I want to do some more reading first before I ask stupid questions. wink.png

P1150653.jpg

Edited by Dave88LX

Welcome

Nice looking truck.

Nice truck!

I highly recommend Don at SDS. Very knowledgeable and a pleasure to deal with. Not to mention his product is top notch.

Not sure what your budget is but from the preliminary measurements it sounds like a single 15" xcon would be up your alley. Very clean sounding and quite loud even in a sealed enclosure. Something like a 1k amp would mate up nice.

Also when shopping around dont make the mistake of thinking you have to put rms power to a sub to perform correctly!