FIenthusiast

Half of the port covered up?

hey guys, i bought an fi btl 18" sub yesterday

its my first big sub and im still learning so take it easy on me

anyway, the guy i bought it from gave me the box with it as well (looks to be about 6 cubes) and there was a piece of mdf covering half of the port

he mentioned something about it being there to build more pressure and im not sure what effect this would have anyway, in my opinion all it could possibly do is fuck the sub up somehow by making it move in a wa its not meant to in that box

can i get any opinions on it? let me know why it could be good or bad

-Stephen

Pics?

Yeah can you post a picture?

Pics?

ill try to post a few later on tonight, really busy at work now

Welcome

You live in my favorite place to visit! After we see a picture I am sure we can help you out.

lol, i try to appreciate it more and more whenever i hear someone talk about it that way

sorry about the delay for the pics, i took them but i havent had the means to upload them yet (done with my phone)

will try to upload them tonight in any spare time between putting up my christmas tree and studying for finals

-Stephen

And most likely it's a bad idea.

Of course the translation of what he tried to say may be why, but the pics will tell the story. And if they don't alone the dimensions will tell the rest.

tried posting pics but i cant seem to find out how

any help?

Edited by FIenthusiast

Upload them to photobucket first. Then click on the share links line in the share dialog box and click on the "IMG" code line. It will copy the "IMG" code to the clipboard automatically. Then just come to the forum and paste the link data into the reply box here.

yes need to know how large the encloser is .. he may have made the box too large, and in that case if you remove it with out knowing what your doing, you can damage the sub. basicly by unloading it to death...