i9z4real@yahoo.com

My 12 inch DCON died

After only a year of use on a Crescendo 1000c4 my SSA DCON 12 inch died. =(

Repair dude is trying to charge me 100 for repair/recone and 35 for labor. Nearly the price of a brand new DCON. What do I do.

order a new one or you could get a hold of Aaron and see how much he would charge to sejd you out a recone and you can just do it yourself 

How did you have the dcon wired up? Just get a recone from ssa and do it your self. There are plenty of vids that walk you through it.

First of all, what caused it to fail? Need to figure that out first before you fix it.

It is an s4 DCON and i had it at 500w x2 bridged at 4 ohms or 250w x2 bridged at 8 ohms. I'm not sure, I'm a huge noob and my car audio friend hooked it up for me.

did you have your gain all the way up? 

You should of asked here first lol So you just had it on one of the channels when it was bridged to 4 ohms?

You should of asked here first lol So you just had it on one of the channels when it was bridged to 4 ohms?

Its bridged at either 500 at 4 ohms or 250 at 8 ohms I'm not sure, and the gains are a little less than 3/4 on it.

I'm using the front to channels of the crescendo on some alpine comps I've got up front, and the rear channels bridged to the dcon.

The sub will determine which ohm the amp will bridge at. There is only one way the amp will be bridged with that sub and it's at 4 ohm. It's pretty much impossible to mess up the wiring for a s4 sub so you should be right.

Explain how the sub failed. Did it just stop working when playing it or did it not turn on when you started car? Did it fuck up when a certain song was played?

I'm thinking a heavily clipped song was played (probably not knowingly) and messed the sub up.

what were your settings on the amp? Like ssf and all that.