lithium

Wideband/Full range speaker suggestions - A Pillars

Hey guys, been awhile. I've been messing around with the build here and there for the last 2 years and its largely remained the same. I swapped in a mini dsp 6x8 and a new 4 channel amp for the mids and tweets. 

https://imgur.com/Gdu11nn

Currently the build is a 3 way front stage with SLS 8's in the doors along with Tangband w4's and some peerless tweets in the kick panels. The problem is that the driver side kick panel is this strange black hole for mid to high frequencies. I've spent the last two days trouble shooting the amp and wiring to make sure its not something electrical. 

That all said, I think I'm going back to the A pillar full range setup (either with or without a tweeter). I ran the sls 8s with a set of peerless full ranger in my previous car so I'm aware of what to expect. The only issue I had at the time was that the 3" has trouble matching up with the sls'8 in the 250hz range. I'm not sure if that was due to the drivers or some cabin modes. I'd consider upgrading the 8's if need be. 

So i'm looking for suggestions on what 3-4 inch full range drivers to try in the A pillar. Not sure if a 4" would work in the A pillar? 

Drivers I've used before:

• Peerless 830986
  • Fountek FR88EX 
  • Hivi B3 (have a pair from a Zaph project)
  • Tang band w4 1337 

Other options

• Tang band w3 bamboo
  • FaitalPRO 3FE25 or other drivers from FaitalPro 
  • Dayton audio? 
  • Vifa TC9FD

Install will likely be PVC end caps temporarily and later I will fiber glass. I might play around with 3D printing the enclosure to some extent. 

How were your 3's mounted up above?  I assume you mean they lacked the cohones necessary to dig to 250?

I loved my Fountek FR89's, but I am not sure how much that can help what you are going for.

13 minutes ago, ///M5 said:

How were your 3's mounted up above?  I assume you mean they lacked the cohones necessary to dig to 250?