///M5

Why loudspeakers should all be rated at 1W/1m

As most of you know, I do measurements for a living. So I have a few pet peeves about how things are done in this industry. Nothing is standardized and the accuracy of everything is questionable and typically quite subjective. In this thread, I would like to address something I would like to see standardized and that is the sensitivity of loudspeakers. There are a lot of you car audio nuts that are afraid to run home audio drivers in your car due to the fact they are 8ohms, but you really shouldn

You're also assuming that the amplifier is capable of providing only half the output power into 8 ohms compared to 4. This is rarely the case. The difference might be enough to squeeze another dB out of the 8ohm driver.

Thanks for clarifying, I was trying to err on the conservative side.

pfftm 0.5ohm pwnz you guys.

Very nice write up sean.

Just a few thoughts of my own here.

Yes, increasing the length of the coil will increase efficiency; it increases BL. However, it can also increase Mms, which will decrease efficiency. There is a point of diminishing returns where you are much better off to increase BL and, conversely, efficiency by adding to the "B" portion of that equation. A positive effect of adding length to the coil is increasing Mms (yes, it is positive as well). Increasing Mms will also lower Fs, which is very handy for those who dig their low frequency response. The last negative effect of increasing L is the increase in inductance, which impacts your high frequency response and your transient rise response.