Sign in to follow this  
lithium

alarm draining battery???

i had a hornet security system installed in my car, baught and installed at circuit city... its been in almost a year now.

last weekend my car sat for 2 days while i was visiting my gf. alarm was armed, no light were left on. battery was deadafter 2 days. i thought it was the cold so i took it to walmart, they tested everything and said it could be going bad or something is draining from the battery. my dad bought a new battery and all was fine. like i said i thought it was the cold weather giving it a hard time. so anyways last night i accidentally armed the alarm (not knowing if it was the draining the battery or if previous battery was just dying on its own) and my battery was dead. (armed saturday night and battery was dead Monday morning)...

im calling out the alarm on this one. i didn't install myself. didn't really want to mess with it. im still relatively new to this kind of thing.

ive called circuit city and ill be taking it up there to have them look at it. (for free)

any advice?

additional info:

-car- 2000 olds intrigue

-audio- cheap ass chitty sony deck

-front stage- kx250.2 and pg components

-sub stage- AA arsenal and kenwood excelon amp

-cap- 1.2 farad tsunami

-wiring- kicker 4gauge

Before you take it up there.. Are you sure it's not your stereo staying on? Perhaps disconnect all that first and then arm it again. See what happens.

An alarm draws very little power when on, so I doubt it'll be the one draining your battery.

the first battery was is in it when i bought the car about 2 years ago.

brand new battery was installed.

only happened when i arm the alarm.

the only thing ive done to the stereo is remount them on the new rack. its all hooked up just fine. stereo is not staying on. amps do not stay on.

here is a post by 4runner that was on my double post...