RAD

Walling a Hyundai Hatch

Hey guys, just thought i'd see if any of you were interested in checking out my progress walling my spare car. It's a 1995 Hyundai Excel (Accent for CAN/USA) hatch, pretty boring and poorly made car, but it's good enough to keep, cheap enough to sacrifice to be walled.

Here's what the car looks like (not actual car)

10325935.jpg

Had it for 5 months as a daily driver, i've had the front stage installed, battery and elec partially done, and a temp sub setup installed. But now it's time to go all out and have some fun with the subs. Sometime this week i'll be recieving two Mach5 IXL.18's, and the plan calls for 12cubes ported @ 30hz for some nice lows.

Quick parts list for anyone who's interested:

- Alpine 9886i Headunit

- Polk Momo 6.5" splits

- Epsilon EA5000D monoblock

- Atomic APSPL 10's x2

- Magnat 360 classic 4ch amp

- Odyssey PC2150 battery

I'll copy and paste my posts from another forum into one post, for anyone who wants to see the previous work.

Cheers, feel free to ask any questions.

---- From another build log ----

-------------------------------------

Anyway, the stock speakers were giving me the craps, and the one in the drivers side door doesnt even work since the leads were rusted. After work, i stopped by a local pawn shop and found a pair of Polk Momo splits in pre-fab pods that fit the doors perfect, like so:

102_2032.jpg

Notice that the pods are mounted onto the wrong doors. Turns out i cant fit them properly because the bulge for the tweeters would hit the dash, so they had to be swapped over.

Doors need a little deadening, picked up a pack of 6 DNA 12"x12" bitumen sheets. From my previous build on a BMW, i had this as a dynamat roller:

100_1894.jpg

But its gone missing, so i put together something just as crude:

102_2033.jpg

Paint roller with a piece of metal tube. With that in hand, i rolled said bitumen sheets onto the outer skin.

102_2034.jpg