Sign in to follow this  
60ndown

weird

i have been running an rlp 12 for about 5 months i.b off a xenon 600.i like everything about it gets sick low, accurate, loud everything, but i got these here s.s. 8s loking at me? i couldnt get em up front so i thought id try em in the rear shelf. :fing34: did some work on the shelf today and had to go for a drive to get some stuff, the weird thing is that now i have 2 holes in the rear shelf (about 6 inch diamiter each) kindof porting the i.b rl-p 12 into the car, it sounds.....better? no longer sealed i.b but kindof mostly sealed with 2 holes in the shelf? im confused i thought this would have destroyed sq and power handling? but it doesnt seem to have done that? anyway ill finish fitting the 8s tomorrow and see whats up with them?? bass is weird! :blink:

I run most of my setups free air in the car. You may have seen my 86 Pontiac 6000LE with the Pioneer 6x9's sitting in the rear deck. Totally sweet sounding.

Seriously though, it sounds like you weren't sealed so well before. Is that possible? That or some psychological switch?? Can't really explain why it would sound better. Drive it again and make sure.

I am curious to your impressions of the 2 8's versus the 12. Will they both be in at the same time?

how is your IB setup? is it normally sealed but firing into the back of the seat and now its got two holes for sound to travel up through?

I run most of my setups free air in the car.  You may have seen my 86 Pontiac 6000LE with the Pioneer 6x9's sitting in the rear deck.  Totally sweet sounding.

Seriously though, it sounds like you weren't sealed so well before.  Is that possible?  That or some psychological switch??  Can't really explain why it would sound better.  Drive it again and make sure.

I am curious to your impressions of the 2 8's versus the 12.  Will they both be in at the same time?

yes both 8s will be runnng at the same time....tomorrow :D