simons81

Making 6.5" speakers fit

Hey, I'm looking for a bit of advice. I bought some 6.5" Focal component speakers for my 99 Civic LX which has 6.5" stock speakers. The problem is that the Focals appear to be a hair larger than they specified... The diameter of the speaker is a good 1-2mm wider than claimed, which means I'm forced to do some modification. I would probably just huck them on eBay, except a) I really like their sound, and b) I already drilled / installed the tweeters on my door panel.

So I'm left with a tricky situation. I'm debating whether or not I should be cutting the metal ring around the speaker, or the plastic on my door. They both have pros and cons and while I'm slightly handy, I'm not very experienced with cutting plastic or metal. If I dremel the plastic opening on the door, while I only need an extra hair of clearance, it looks like I might damage the structure of the plastic housing. I only need an extra millimeter or two, but that's about all it'll take to make the speaker housing sorta weakened. On the flipside, I wouldn't have the slightest clue on filing down the metal ring of the speaker... not very experienced with shaving metal, especially on something fragile like a speaker. Anyone have any advice on which avenue I should proceed, and which tools I'd want to use? Would you do slight modifications to both? After spending my entire weekend on this, as well as lots of hard earned moola, I'm just a little freaked out, lol.

Thanks

Cut the plastic. No if ands or matbeys about that in my mind. If you could post a pic of the mounting point I'm sure I or someone else here could tell you how to go about modifying it properly.