Impious

What's Your Opinion of Commission Only Jobs??

Well, I'm thinking about taking a new job as a sales agent for a fairly large insurance company. Pay would be completely commission based...something I've never done before in my life. I sort of like the idea...my income is only limited by my own potential. But, likewise, is open to volatility and not a necessarily "steady" paycheck, and pay will certainly be low/slow to start with. Though, the pay will also include uncapped quarterly bonus's for certain sales levels/etc.

So, just curious....what's ya'll opinion on something like this? Experience? Know someone working a commission based career?

I'd love to hear your thoughts/opinions/experiences.

depending upon person, market and what they are selling...it has a great potential. but like u already mentioned, it also has a certain downside.

personally, i like a salaried with commision override type of job. that way when u have a down week, at least ur still getting paid something, but the reward of pushing urself is still there as u can earn way over the salary with the override.

of course, uncapped bonus's are always nice.

wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :slayer:

I work as a car Sales MGR.--been selling for over 2 years----and I would NEVER go back to hourly wages-----when else can you work only 40-45 hrs a week and make over $10K a month?-----after taxes too!!

I love it!!!

i had a job like that... not as hardcore as yours but i earned minimum + commission.... IMO unless you have a steady clientbase, or the market has not been saturated, you are good to go :)

wat insurance company and what kinda insurance are you selling?

however....it REALLY REALLY sux when you dont sell ANY thing and you dont make ANYTHING lol. it depends on yuor personality i guess.... gotta be agressive :)