Ttime

First sub install, must have done something wrong.

Hey guys, I'm new to car audio and just installed my first sub a few days ago. It's a 12 inch Dcon D4. I have it running at 2 ohms off of an audioque aq750. I built the enclosure using the optimal ported recommendation on the SSA website. The problem is I cant turn up the gain on the amp very much without the sub making a rattling noise. Any ideas what I might have done wrong to cause this? I know I'm not getting anywhere close to full potential out of this thing. With the gain set low enough to eliminate the rattle, the mirrors don't even move! The sound is very good, but there just isn't any power at all. All advice is greatly appreciated.

Pics of enclosure and materials used? Are you sure its sub noise and not the box itself?

The gain on the amp is to match voltage coming from the headunit only. If you are new at setting gains it I would say dont turn it over half way up and leave bass boost off.

Where do you have the LPF and SSF set on the amp?

I used 3/4 inch mdf board. I have the gain at about 10 o'clock, ssf at 10 o'clock, and gain at only 9 o'clock without the rattle. And I put my ear right up to the sub and it's coming from the sub.

I used 3/4 inch mdf board. I have the gain at about 10 o'clock, ssf at 10 o'clock, and gain at only 9 o'clock without the rattle. And I put my ear right up to the sub and it's coming from the sub.

Sorry but that doesn't help. Does the amp have silk-screen printing saying 20hz, 30hz, 40hz, 50hz, etc? Approx where would you say the SSF and LPF are set, in hz?

Oh, sorry. The lpf is about 90-100. For the ssf it says it goes from 5V-0.15V, can you explain that to me?

Oh, sorry. The lpf is about 90-100. For the ssf it says it goes from 5V-0.15V, can you explain that to me?

The gain will be in voltage.

The SSF will be in hertz (hz). SSF is the subsonic filter, same as a high pass filter. IE: set to 30hz, attenuates frequencies below 30hz.