Sign in to follow this  
CavalierAudio

15 Fi BTL in a Cavalier?

i now have two JL 13w1s in a custom slot ported box running off a JL 250/1 Amp in the back seat of my cavalier this is just way to big for my car. I was wonder if i put a 15 BTL in a 4 cube box tuned to 34 in my tunk with a Hifonics 2000watt amp and a new yellow top would there be any diffrence in loudness. I love being herd from far away and i love shaking peoples cars when im around! lol tipcal teenager. My JLs do a decent job but i need MORE! will there be any diffrence?

As far as being a difference in loudness, then yes their will be a big difference. Im not a expert, but it seems to me just the jump in power alone (not to mention the BTLs are loud anyway) and you will be able to tell a big difference :doit:

Im sure some of the other forum members would be able to answer your question better than me though....

:thanx:

As far as being a difference in loudness, then yes their will be a big difference. Im not a expert, but it seems to me just the jump in power alone (not to mention the BTLs are loud anyway) and you will be able to tell a big difference :doit:

Im sure some of the other forum members would be able to answer your question better than me though....

doubling your power is a theoretical 3db increase. 250-500-1000-2000=9db increase. you will have less cone area (-3db), theoretically making it a 6db increase, but I suspect you'll see more than that because of the loudness of the BTL ;)

I'd do the 15" BTL, I think you'll see a very audible and considerable change.

the local audio shop that is building my box for the btl laughed at me and told me i was fuking stuip when i told em what i was doing they said that 1 10 would make a cavalier beat like hell 1 15 with 4000 watts was gonna first fry my alternator then crack my window lol i think there just haters lol

dont let them feed you BS...

keep getting advice here, not from the shops in your town...