zshortcut

newb to car audio, i need amp help. BADLY lol

hey guys, my names zack

i drive an acura 3.0 cl

i have a ported close to 4 cube box with 2 SSA ICONS 12's

my amp im running now is a 1100 watt Crunch amp, but the problem is i guess there isnt enough power for them cause when i crank it the amp shuts off

so now to the problem.

i am a COMPLETE newby the the audio world and dont kno really what im shopping for,

i know you can wire amps together, am i better off getting another amp and connecting the two?

is it better to get one bigger amp?

any help will be greatly apprieciated, critisms is alright too, i can handle it.

thanks in advance guys, i'll post pictures of the new box soon

the subs are dual 2 or 1?

what model amp?

how do you have them wired

it sounds so far like you may them under the amps ohm rating.

but we can get more into it.. those are the questions i have at this point. more to come.

Experiencing major voltage drop?

the subs are dual 2 or 1?

what model amp?

how do you have them wired

it sounds so far like you may them under the amps ohm rating.

but we can get more into it.. those are the questions i have at this point. more to come.

alright lets see if i can answer all of these,

1. these are the subs..... http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/index.php/product-information/icon.html

2. i just had a ported box made yesterday and he said they were wired for .5 ohms, but im not exactly sure how he rewired them.

Truthfullly i wanna say it was the same dam way lmao.

im sorry im a total newb, what do you mean by major voltage drop?

the problem im having is, when i crank it up to where its a nice hum the amp lasts about 10-20 minutes and it overheats/ goes into "protection"

the guy at the audio shop said i need a bigger amp