bedbreath

~The Right Sub~

Alright I'm new to the game of car audio, but currently my car audio system.... sucks, unable to hold any of the music I listen to at the loudness I want...expected of course but a new system is needed, and i plan to do the whole system from start to finish

I chosen a receiver that seems to suit my needs already and plan to purchase it soon, but I am completely unsure of the subwoofer I want, I listen to rock, and A LOT of electronic (house, dance, etc) and that means I want my bass to hit hard but at the same time it needs to be fast and keep up with the fast past music i listen to. However I only want it to hit hard due to the style of music I listen to, but also prefer pretty decent SQ, I do not need not need to be blown away by dBs but simply want a more in between SQ - SPL leaning more towards SPL. This will be for a 1999 Mazda Protege with a soon to be installed pioneer deh-7000bt receiver. I also need it to be somewhat mainstream, because I am planning to purchase it off ebay it can't be a custom deal. I'm willing to spend up to $150-200 on it through ebay meaning the retail price should be around $500. I have been researching subs for hours already, and really had no leads to finding the right sub, whenever I found something I like I found something wrong with it, so help would be very much appreciated. Simply where to look, suggested brands or just articles I should read first are fine, but an exact model would be great.

Thanks for reading hope for some good suggestions =)

Oh and if there any more info you want I'd be glad to share.

Edited by bedbreath

Have you looked into the Mach5 IXL Subs? There is a few reviews on the Mach5 forum. And there mostly for SQ.

Why does it HAVE to be bought off of eGay?

Indeed you might end up paying more for something that is functionally worth less.