Sign in to follow this  
Aaron Clinton

Folded Horn v. Snail Shell v. Transmission Line

I have done my reading but I still do not know enough,

I want to learn how to design them and the strengths and weakness of each.

I hope to design and build one of these for an RL-i 8

Folded horns are vastly easier to build than a mass-loaded T-line, as no accurate modeling or equations are availible. Every good t-line out there has been built, re-built, and tweaked with the stuffing and line length to get it in top notch shape. They're tricky little beasts.

http://www.t-linespeakers.org would be a good place to look.

Also, DIYAudio's Full Range forum (where I'm still a newbie, heh) will be very helpful to you: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/forumdispla...p?s=&forumid=51

:greddy2:

I think I might start playing around with them. Very tedious to design from what I understand. My kind of project. :huh::fing34:

After seeing that 10 biggest lies in car audio thread, I'd think you were mentally exhausted not proving your point, Effendi. =p

To answer the thread, you will probably need about 8-12 cubes NET for a folded horn enclosure for an 8 inch driver, so you don't have a choice as to which you would put in a car. Observe:

impsm.jpg

imperial1.jpg

impsub.jpg

well I have an explorer and it would be funny to build a box that went form the B pillar back

Look into Decware's web site. They have a lot of nice horn enclosures designed for car audio. While the output compared to a normal folded horn sucks ass, they appearantly can still kill bandpass enclosures, and have taken home a few trophies in the process.

www.decware.com

wonder how the RL-i 8 will react in that type of enclosure

I found my copy of a 1936 article about building an "exponential" horn for a single 8 inch driver. I'll scan it tonight and upload the pages.

I found my copy of a 1936 article about building an "exponential" horn for a single 8 inch driver. I'll scan it tonight and upload the pages.