Moofs

IA 187, hows the midbass?

I'm looking into the IA 187, I know it can handle the lows well but how about higher frequencies? I'm looking for a sub that can handle midbass well since I listen to mostly rock music.

I'm looking to hear from ppl who have personally heard the sub.

Thanks

How high in frequency are you talking? And why do you want your sub to play midbass?

well im not sure exactly. lol. I'm still new to car audio. My door speakers are 5.25's but I was told I can set the cross over point a little higher and have the sub cover mid bass that the 5.25's cant handle. Basically stuff thats in rock etc, as apposed to rap or what ever that has more lower notes. So im guess like certain guitar/bass/drum notes. Possible anything over like 40hz. (i think)

I just dont want a sub that will be awesome on low tones and once I play rock music (which is most of my library) I dont want a lack of bass or sound in that department.

edit: you also appear to be a tool fan, same. So basically some of the tones in their stuff, like in schism where it's basically mostly bass dominant.

Edited by Moofs

anyone? I'm between this or an SDC2.5 but I hear this forum isnt too found of that sub.

Choices are basically the 187, Dcon, SDC2.5

I listen to mostly rock and rap hiphop. I'd say my ipod is 70% rock and 30% rap. I hear the sdc is awesome at playing mid bass, so its good for rock but if I can save money with one of the 2 others and get the same sound. I'd do that.

Just put the 187 in a sealed box.I think your going for more of a sq set up

The IA 187 will cover 30-80hz nicely in a sealed box. It depends on where your low pass filter is set at.

Not sure why you want a sub woofer to handle mid bass, but you could cross the sub over at a higher frequency.

egh not rly. More of a budget setup. I was actually leaning towards a ported box since I know someone who will build me one.