smashedz28

help with graphs.

Ok, im new to what im about to get into. never really graphed out the response of a sub i was interested in before. I purchased this program "subwoofer design toolbox" by Mark Rumreich.

I have been punching in the few parameters this programs requires on just about every sub lately that i could possibly be interested in. Alot give me a weird looking graph that to the best of my knowledge looks bad, real peaky. so I run across an sa12 which is in my budget and just might fit my goals. Im looking for a sub that will basically be as much of a ground pounder as i can with 1 sub. I want it to nail the lows and sound decent enough everywhere else. listen to rap and bass heavy music but im sick and tired of installs that hit a few frequencies like a champ but are sloppy as shit everywhere else. i want it to sound good also. Currently i have a Treo ssx 12", sounds like overall shit. not happy with it at all, and maybe this graph shows why. let me post a few of what I have found here.

SA-12'.

sa12.jpg

Current sub Treo SSX 12"

treo.jpg

Now i hope i did this right. this particular program asks you provide it with Fs/Qts/Vas , also a enclosure size and a tuning freq. seems pretty simple...i think. If i totally screwed these up please tell me, if not then please explain what you see when you look at them. what i see is the Sa12 sounding alot smoother through the frequencies compared to the peaky treo.?? Also i thought power usuage come to to play somewhere, this program doesnt ask that. anyone know why? appreciate any guidance i can get on this, really trying to not just slap shit together but really understand more of what is involved.

Here is a pic of the program, is this information entered correctly?... the blue boxes at the bottom are recommendations not actual fields to enter into.

settings.jpg