outhopu

My new hooptie, 1980 CoupeDeville. Bumping on a budget.

Well I've had enough of working my life away building cool shit for other people. I scooped up a 1980 Caddy CoupeDeville about a week ago and will be putting a basic hydraulic set up in it. I'll also be using all the various audio gear that I have been storing in the basement for the last 3 years to put a decent system together for it also. I know the gear isn't high end stuff but I bought it before learning about companies like Fi and Sundown. Hey I did by it all at clearance prices at least so I'm going to run with it.

Heres what I have planned for gear as of now.

JVC head unit.

(8) Infinity Kappa 3 way coaxs. May only run 4 depending on room.

(4) 10" Infinity Kappa perfect 10.1 subs in bandpass enclosure (4th order I believe it's called)

(3) Clarion amps (I have 5 to choose from I'll post specs later)

(2) Kinetik 1800 batteries

Big 3

Plenty of 1/0 cable

Alternator to be decided on later.

I decided to give birch plywood a try since I keep reading good things about. Had some of the cuts done at Lowes to save me some time.

Picture001-4.jpg

Laid out the baffles and started cutting with my new circle jig.

Picture003-3.jpg

Picture002-4.jpg

Picture004-4.jpg

Glued and screwed the pieces together .

Picture006-2.jpg

Figured rounding the corner off the back side of the opening couldn't hurt.

Picture005-3.jpg

Picture008-2.jpg

I cut a slot for the center divider to go into for a stronger glue joint since I won't be able to get a screw or nail in from the other side.

Picture009-3.jpg

Picture010-3.jpg

Got the bottom and sides glued and nailed together.

Picture011-3.jpg

Attached some strips to the sides to make stting the baffle in the correct place a bit easier.

Picture015-4.jpg

Dropped the baffle and center divider in.

Picture016-4.jpg